HP Pavilion 15 review | The perfect student or all-round laptop?

The HP Pavilion 15 (15-cw1012na) is a 15.6” laptop with a full HD IPS touch screen, 512GB fast SSD, Ryzen 5-3500U processor and 8GB of RAM. There are other models in the range, but this one offers a good balance between performance and price. It’s currently around £550 or $600 – but check the links below for the latest prices.

It’s not the flashiest laptop. It’s predominantly plastic, there’s no 360 degree hinge and it’s not super lightweight. But it’s fast enough to run pretty much anything and can even handle some light gaming with its integrated Vega 8 graphics.

Could this be the perfect all-round laptop for most of us? Let’s find out.

If you want to skip forward or back at any time in this video, please check the timestamps down below and in the pinned comment.
——–
Get 3 extra months of ExpressVPN FREE:
https://www.expressvpn.com/thetechnologyman

If you want to support my channel, please consider using the link above to try one of the best VPN services I’ve tested. It doesn’t cost you any extra – in fact you get an extra 3 months free with the link – and I get a small commission.

With a VPN service you can browse the Internet securely and privately and access content anywhere free of georestrictions, including Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, HBO Max, BBC iPlayer, ITV and Sky Go. ExpressVPN is one of the largest VPN providers and works across PC, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV, FireTV, Xbox, PlayStation, routers etc.
——–
As an Amazon affiliate, I get a small commission from purchases made via any Amazon links.

Amazon links:
HP Pavilion 15: https://geni.us/llW3zt
Written article: http://thetechnologyman.com

User guide and service manual: https://support.hp.com/gb-en/product/hp-pavilion-15-cw1000-laptop-pc/26183458/model/29691037/manuals
——–
You can find most of the recent tech I’ve reviewed recently all in one place on my Amazon page. I also have a list some of my recommended tech and my current camera equipment for filming:
UK: http://amazon.co.uk/shop/thetechnologyman
US: http://amazon.com/shop/thetechnologyman
——–
Music in video from:
Artlist.io
https://artlist.io/Gidon-708719 (2 months FREE with this link)
Epidemic Sound:
https://www.epidemicsound.com/referral/1piat9/ (FREE 30 day trial with this link)
——–
Timestamps:
0:00 Intro*
0:41 Overview*. Unboxing, ports
1:28 Design including keyboard & track pad, build quality, dimensions, weight
2:18 Initial setup, finish Windows 10 install, remove any junkware
2:35 Display bezels, with webcam and dual array microphones
2:52 Keyboard feel and flex. Keyboard sound test
3:10 Trackpad feel, Elan Touchpad config software
3:30 Display & performance*. Screen, hinge, usefulness of touch without 360 degree hinge, screen very reflective
4:09 Test screen brightness in nits with X-Rite i1Display Pro, colour accuracy or Delta E, screen uniformity
5:07 Integrated 41Wh battery, AC adapter, fast charging times
5:43 Battery life – measured versus quoted. With maximum and 50% screen brightness
6:15 Display battery remaining time – configure in BIOS
6:33 Performance specifications: Ryzen 5 3500U, Radeon Vega 8 graphics, 512GB NVMe SSD, 8GB DDR4 3200MHz RAM
7:03 Benchmark SSD speed
7:17 Benchmark processor with Geekbench 5. Compare Macbook Pro 2012, Lenovo Yoga 530, fast desktop PC
7:35 Userbenchmark test
7:44 Real life use – editing 4K video in Adobe Premiere Pro. Timeline scrubbing and exporting using hardware and software encoding
8:42 Gaming benchmarks: Doom, Fortnite, Unigine Heaven 4.0 synthetic benchmark
9:07 Fan noise. Experiment with BIOS and HP Coolsense to try and reduce
9:38 Laptop disassembly. Discuss upgrading RAM, NVMe and adding 2.5″ additional hard drive. And replacing dead battery
10:12 Webcam and microphone tests in low light and typical room lighting
10:28 Speaker sound test recorded with binaural microphones. Listen with headphones for the best experience
11:12 Bluetooth 4.2 and WiFi 802.11ac
11:34 Conclusions*
*Main sections
——–
#hp #hplaptop #laptop

50 Comments

  1. Emmy Odum on April 6, 2021 at 4:37 pm

    Your review are brilliant and informative. Can you please do a review on this particular hp 15-dw2030ne.
    Thanks



  2. Just a random memer on April 6, 2021 at 4:38 pm

    Hi great review what editing apps would you recommend to edit yt vids on this laptop?



  3. manny Garcia on April 6, 2021 at 4:38 pm

    Appreciate the helpful review!



  4. BriightMoon on April 6, 2021 at 4:38 pm

    WARNING, PLEASE READ IF YOU ARE BUYING THIS LAPTOP

    I currently am a student and am doing online school, I received this laptop a week prior to an event and used it for a little while like setting up zoom and school websites, after a week (spring break) I went to my first online class and zoom and it went smoothly and all right, please note I only had zoom and 3 tabs open, after an hour on zoom I decided to do a split screen for an assignment i was working on and the computer screen went blank and started glitching black and white lines across the screen and I was so confused, it was brand new, no damage of water or nothing, but before it glitched it started making all the fonts glitchy and a fuzzy font.
    OVERALL, I believe maybe there was a problem in building or putting together the screen because I bought it straight from bestbuy.,



  5. Hajar Fouad on April 6, 2021 at 4:38 pm

    if i knew about the fan noise i would not have purchase it, i had a good working hp laptop and I wanted to upgrade to a newer one, but sadly this fan noise is driving mad, how can i make it stop 🙁



  6. Marlene Mweru on April 6, 2021 at 4:39 pm

    Would this be a good laptop for architectural drawing and renders?



  7. Phillip Taylor on April 6, 2021 at 4:41 pm

    That video sets the benchmark for laptop reviews. Great job, and thank you



  8. Has Os on April 6, 2021 at 4:43 pm

    Can’t wait for my laptop to arrive‼️



  9. Shawna Fliehs on April 6, 2021 at 4:45 pm

    where could I find a case that fits the laptop?



  10. lovinqdani on April 6, 2021 at 4:46 pm

    Do you recommend this for roblox??



  11. Cinnamon asher on April 6, 2021 at 4:47 pm

    Hi..umm..i just wanna ask because i have been looking for my laptop "hp pavilion laptop 15-eg0083tx"..and i cant seem to find it anywhere..is there a review on my laptop?



  12. ICECHILLAX GAMING on April 6, 2021 at 4:49 pm

    I have this laptop and make my videos on it but it’s so slow idk why



  13. Ahmad 14 on April 6, 2021 at 4:50 pm

    Thanks for you lovely review. I Just a small question, does the laptop make a very loud fan noise when it was new?. I have the same laptop and mine is making loud fan noise, I have it for 2 years now and can’t remember if it was making that noise when I got new at the time. Thanks in advance



  14. Sussyla lol on April 6, 2021 at 4:52 pm

    I might get it any tips?



  15. Ultimate Gamer on April 6, 2021 at 4:52 pm

    Is this fast enough to see up to date stocks and shares making fast trades?



  16. David Chandler on April 6, 2021 at 4:53 pm

    great video, but how would this laptop be for watch a basketball or sports game?



  17. Florejane Conde on April 6, 2021 at 4:54 pm

    Am I able to play Minecraft with mods with this laptop?



  18. Chukwueke Sunny on April 6, 2021 at 4:55 pm

    Thank you for the review. I appreciate what you do. Pls what laptop would you prefer if you are into app development?



  19. Myth1cxll on April 6, 2021 at 4:55 pm

    Excellent review. Nothing flashy, no stupid montages, just straight to the facts. Liked and subbed. I will buy this laptop as my daily driver! 😀



  20. The Technology Man on April 6, 2021 at 4:57 pm

    Does this laptop appeal to you? Do you think a touch screen on a laptop without a 360 degree hinge is useful? And if there’s another laptop you’d like me to take a look at, please let me know down below!
    Timestamps – please feel free to skip ahead or back:
    0:00 Intro*
    0:41 Overview*. Unboxing, ports
    1:28 Design including keyboard & track pad, build quality, dimensions, weight
    2:18 Initial setup, finish Windows 10 install, remove any junkware
    2:35 Display bezels, with webcam and dual array microphones
    2:52 Keyboard feel and flex. Keyboard sound test
    3:10 Trackpad feel, Elan Touchpad config software
    3:30 Display & performance*. Screen, hinge, usefulness of touch without 360 degree hinge, screen very reflective
    4:09 Test screen brightness in nits with X-Rite i1Display Pro, colour accuracy or Delta E, screen uniformity
    5:07 Integrated 41Wh battery, AC adapter, fast charging times
    5:43 Battery life – measured versus quoted. With maximum and 50% screen brightness
    6:15 Display battery remaining time – configure in BIOS
    6:33 Performance specifications: Ryzen 5 3500U, Radeon Vega 8 graphics, 512GB NVMe SSD, 8GB DDR4 3200MHz RAM
    7:03 Benchmark SSD speed
    7:17 Benchmark processor with Geekbench 5. Compare Macbook Pro 2012, Lenovo Yoga 530, fast desktop PC
    7:35 Userbenchmark test
    7:44 Real life use – editing 4K video in Adobe Premiere Pro. Timeline scrubbing and exporting using hardware and software encoding
    8:42 Gaming benchmarks: Doom, Fortnite, Unigine Heaven 4.0 synthetic benchmark
    9:07 Fan noise. Experiment with BIOS and HP Coolsense to try and reduce
    9:38 Laptop disassembly. Discuss upgrading RAM, NVMe and adding 2.5" additional hard drive. And replacing dead battery
    10:12 Webcam and microphone tests in low light and typical room lighting
    10:28 Speaker sound test recorded with binaural microphones. Listen with headphones for the best experience
    11:12 Bluetooth 4.2 and WiFi 802.11ac
    11:34 Conclusions*



  21. Vox Mango on April 6, 2021 at 4:58 pm

    I’m impressed. Very thorough and clean review!



  22. Leo Pin on April 6, 2021 at 5:00 pm

    I’m thinking of gettimg this for casual use, and for digital art, you said that replacing the memory would be good, but i was wondering if downloading art files onto hard-drive’s would be good, since I cant really afford much



  23. Nade_s on April 6, 2021 at 5:00 pm

    i spilled some juice on the key board and i want to clean the keys can i remove the keys?



  24. idemoniakoart on April 6, 2021 at 5:00 pm

    How difficult is it to add another SSD or hard drive in that space you showed 9:57? Does it have the necessary connections for it?



  25. Warren Lay on April 6, 2021 at 5:01 pm

    I had just recently purchased this lap top. and i love it thus far. being only 1week in my possession. Only difference i found witht hte one in your video to mines is that, i bought mine with 12 GBRAM and not the 8GBRAM they mostly come with. And i had wonders if i would be abe to expand on the RAM and after watching your video i know i can "IF" i wanted to. : )
    I do have to ask, IF you "DO" read this. if theres a picture of the inside you can send me. I dont want to take mines apart and i noticed you did show it a couple times in the video. Id like a still of it if possible. Thanks again for a great video to the inside on my laptop! GJ



  26. Yaboyray 29 on April 6, 2021 at 5:01 pm

    Is this laptop good for editing videos or music production?



  27. bob sapp on April 6, 2021 at 5:05 pm

    this wouldve been a great laptop for me, but the fan noise was too damn loud and annoying. it sounded like a jet engine starting up and there was a high frequency whistling sort of sound to it. shame.



  28. Memster Gamez on April 6, 2021 at 5:05 pm

    Do you know which processor this laptop has



  29. Sydney Norcott on April 6, 2021 at 5:05 pm

    Is this good at gaming like roblox



  30. Ravi Peiris on April 6, 2021 at 5:06 pm

    Writing from California: Just discovered your channel – great video review 👍☺️. By the way, I was at the local Costco and had the opportunity to type on this HP Pavilion keyboard. As someone who considers my IBM THINKPAD T60 the quintessential laptop for setting the bar to what a keyboard should feel like, this HP’s keyboard was surprisingly good with good tactile feel, responsive feedback and excellent key travel of at 1.5mm. Absolutely, wonderful keyboard to type on🤗



  31. Nicki Buetow-Bjorklund on April 6, 2021 at 5:06 pm

    What is your opinion?….
    I edit photos using Photo shop… I might start using light Room but it’s just easier to use photoshop for me… I plan on Getting a subscription this year for photoshop..

    I’m not too concerned about the resolution on the laptop .because, I’m going to plug in a larger TV…

    I am now using a old Toshiba with old windows version.

    The reason why I like this model . is because , of the rough Mouse pad it feels much like my Toshiba’s mouse.

    Do you think this would be a wise choice? 🤔



  32. Horinees Gaming on April 6, 2021 at 5:06 pm

    Is this8gb version? Cause i can buy a 16gb version Wirth ryzen 7. Is that enough for adobe illustrator? Great video



  33. Super じぇいら JJ on April 6, 2021 at 5:07 pm

    I’m looking for a laptop I can edit (obsproject) and game (osu!, valorant). One that I can connect to a monitor, and is around 500$. I think this is the one!!



  34. Krenzy on April 6, 2021 at 5:09 pm

    Hey, this is a really good review! I’m thinking of getting the HP Pavillion 15 with 16GB RAM and an AMD Ryzen 7 4700U processor. Do you think this is a good investment if my main uses of the laptop will be for schoolwork at uni, graphic design (using Adobe Photoshop) and possibly a light bit of gaming? Or do you think there are better alternatives out there at around the same price point? (approx. £800 atm) Thanks 🙂



  35. jadams161 on April 6, 2021 at 5:09 pm

    HP is complete garbage. Horrible customer service and crap plastic computers



  36. Debby on April 6, 2021 at 5:11 pm

    My old hp pavilion is over 5 years old and an i3. The models of HP laptops are quite confusing the hp store has pavilion at £649, and Curry’s also have one at £649. Different model numbers. They are both Ryzen 5 4700 and compared to my old one probably will go like the clappers. It’s just hard picking which one. I think HP make them specifically for outlets. Screen only 250 nits but probably better than my old one. Newer model also 6 core. I will buy it eventually.



  37. cristel lara on April 6, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    one of the best review for laptop that is detailed and easy to understand,keep it up . ph



  38. krista swindell on April 6, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    So is it good for photo editing g?



  39. Adam Nedic on April 6, 2021 at 5:15 pm

    9:22. How loud are they? Are they louder than the MacBook Air 2019 ones? Does anyone know because I’m planning to purchase the same pc, but with a Ryzen 7 4700U, 16gb RAM and amd Vega 7



  40. AlecMcOne on April 6, 2021 at 5:16 pm

    Do you think this could handle recording gameplay via a Nintendo Switch and capture card?



  41. Mr.Landon VR on April 6, 2021 at 5:19 pm

    Wait. There’s two HP pavilions?



  42. tsukiie on April 6, 2021 at 5:20 pm

    hey so I might get the laptop to play minecraft on it. Do you know if Minecraft works well with it?



  43. Mattia Coniglio on April 6, 2021 at 5:23 pm

    is it good for visual studio and unity?
    I’m learning c# and I need a new PC.



  44. Johanna Vtkov シ on April 6, 2021 at 5:24 pm

    Thank you so much! It helps me. I will buy this laptop!



  45. Zainab Abbas on April 6, 2021 at 5:25 pm

    So this laptop is best for the students?



  46. Nadeyah Andersson on April 6, 2021 at 5:26 pm

    HP 15.6" Ryzen 5 8GB/256GB Laptop-Rose Gold HPModel: 15-ef0025wm
    Hello! I was doing research & am considering purchasing the above product. I believe it to be what you’ve reviewed here! I’m a small time pc gamer, sims & such games. I have every single expansion pack to the sims 4. Do you think this would be a good laptop for me?
    Thank you so much!



  47. Memster Gamez on April 6, 2021 at 5:28 pm

    I might get this laptop does this laptop has a fast charger if it does
    does the fast charger damage the laptop battery? Pls reply



  48. Qudratullah Alizada on April 6, 2021 at 5:33 pm

    Is this laptop good for civil engineering softwares like AutoCAD, revit, Staad pro , Etabs… ?
    Please reply



  49. Sameer Ahmed on April 6, 2021 at 5:35 pm

    Isn’t th eDVD gurd supported?? Please tell…



  50. Memster Gamez on April 6, 2021 at 5:36 pm

    Also how do i know when the laptop is full charge